Meditations On Jesus’ Sacrifice At The Latin Mass

When praying at the Mass of All Ages, The Latin Mass, here are some thoughts to guide you through the Holy Latin Mass and help you to meditate on what you are participating in.  You can print it up and take it with you to help you meditate.


The Priest Christ
Goes to the altar. Goes to Mount Olivet.
Commences Mass. Begins to pray.
Says Confiteor (I believe…). Falls down and sweats blood.
Goes up and kisses the altar. Is betrayed by Judas with a kiss.
Goes to the Epistle side. [1] Is captured, bound, and taken to Annas.
Reads the Introit Is falsely accused by Annas and blasphemed.
Goes to the middle of the altar and reads the Kyrie eleison (Lord, have mercy…). Is brought to Caiphas and there denied three times by Peter.
Says the Dominus vobiscum (Lord be with you…). Looks at Peter and converts him.
Reads the Epistle. Is brought to Pilate.
Says the Munda cor meum (cleanse my heart…) [2] at the middle of the altar. Is taken to Herod and mocked.
Reads the Gospel. Is taken back to Pilate and again mocked.
Uncovers the chalice. Is shamefully exposed.
Offers bread and wine. Is cruelly scourged.
Covers the chalice. Is crowned with thorns.
Washes his hands. Is declared innocent by Pilate.
Says the Orare fratres (Brethren, pray…). Is shown by Pilate to the people with the words Ecce homo (Behold this man…).
Prays in a low voice. Is mocked and spit upon.
Says the Preface and Sanctus (Holy, holy, holy…). Is preferred instead of Barrabas and condemned to crucifixion.
Make the Memento for the living. Carries the cross to Mount Calvary.
Continues to pray in a low voice. Meets His Mother and other pious women.
Blesses the bread and wine with the sign of the cross. Is nailed to the cross.
Elevates the sacred Host. Is raised on the cross.
Elevates the chalice. Sheds blood from the five wounds.
Prays in a low voice. Sees His afflicted Mother at the cross.
Says aloud, Nobis quoque peccatoribus (and to us sinners…). [3] Prays on the cross for men.
Says aloud the Pater noster (Our Father). Says the seven words on the cross.
Breaks and separates the Host. Gives up His spirit and dies.
Lets a small portion of the sacred Host fall into the chalice. His soul descends to Limbo.
Says the Agnus Dei (Lamb of God…). Is acknowledged on the cross as the Son of God by many bystanders.
Administers holy Communion. Is laid in the sepulchre.
Cleanses the chalice. Is anointed by the pious women.
Prepares the chalice again. Arises from the dead.
Says the Dominus vobiscum (Lord be with you…). Appears to His Mother and the disciples.
Says the last prayers. Teaches for forty days.
Says the last Dominus vobiscum. Takes leave of His disciples and ascends to heaven.
Gives the benediction to the people. Sends down the Holy Ghost.
Says the Ite Missa est (Go, you are dismissed…) and the last gospel. [4] Sends the apostles into all parts of the world to preach the gospel.